Minutes of the PSSI General Body Meeting held on 11th December, 2012 at Pondicherry University, Puducherry

The General Body Meeting of the Plasma Science Society of India was held at the Birla Institute of Technology, Patna on the 11th of December 2012, during the 27th National Symposium on Plasma Science & Technology (Plasma-2012) organized by Pondicherry University, Puducherry. The agenda of the meeting was the following;

- Message from the President, PSSI
- Activity report by secretary and discussion on new activities
- Account presentation by Treasurer
- Election for the Executive Council for the term 2013-15
- Any other matter with the permission of the chairman
 - The President, Prof. Avinash Khare chaired the session and the following members
 of the Executive council were present; Ms. Ranjana Manchanda (Secretary), Ms.
 Chhaya Chavda (Treasurer), Dr. N. S. Saini, Mr. Ziauddin Khan, Dr. Yashi Malhotra
 and Dr. A V Ravi Kumar were present. Around 75 PSSI members (Life & student
 members) participated in the General Body Meeting. Prof. Khare addressed the
 GBM and thanked the council members and the members who were present at the
 GBM.
 - 2. The Secretary then presented the activity report for the 2011-12. And the following points were discussed. She informed the GBM regarding the organization of the first PSSI-Plasma Scholars Colloquium held at IPR in July. The 2nd Colloquium in this series is planned to be held at CEERI-Pilani in the year 2013. Regarding the issue of photo-ID cards, she informed the GBM that only less than 200 members had sent information required for the ID card.
 - 3. The minutes of the GBM organized on 21st Dec 2011 at Patna was unanimously approved and accepted by the GBM.
 - 4. The current number of Life Members of PSSI is 1005.
 - 5. Even though there were a few lapses and glitches to the beginning of the Plasma-2012, the GBM appreciated the efforts of the local organizing committee of Plasma-2012, especially Dr. Suraj Sinha and his team. The GBM also recommended that in future, the local organizing committee should be asked to work in tandem with PSSI executive members so that the conference can be organized without any major glitches or occurrence of unsavory situations.
 - 6. The representative of Plasma-2013, KITT University, Bhubaneshwar gave a presentation to the GBM regarding the KITT university and their facilities for hosting Plasma-2013.
 - 7. The balance sheet of the PSSI accounts for the year 2011-12 were presented by the Treasurer and were approved by the GBM. The current corpus in form of fixed deposits stands at Rs. 17 Lakhs.

- 8. Dr. Ramprakash of CEERI Pilani suggested that PSSI should think of a mechanism to honour senior members of PSSI. The GBM agreed that this should be done and asked the Executive Council to look into the possibility of making this possible.
- 9. The GBM proposed that the travel assistance provided to PSSI life members for attending the Plasma conference should be increased to 3-Tire AC. The Treasurer informed that since the travel assistance is being provided by IPR, PSSI would approach IPR for more funds to support this. If more funds are made available, then only 3-Tire AC fares could be provided. A mechanism should also be evolved for this so that only deserving participants avail this facility.
- 10. The GBM strongly reiterated that the local organizing committee (LOC) hosting the Plasma conference should ensure that the Abstract Book of the conference is published with minimal errors and exclusions. It was also discussed that in the event that the LOC plans to bring out a Conference Proceeding (which is not mandatory), a proceedings committee comprising of members nominated by PSSI should be formed to oversee the publication of the proceedings.
- 11. The two returning officers for the election of executive members of PSSI for the 2013-15 term Dr. S. V. Kulkarni and Dr. Anita V. P. conducted the election procedures. All posts except that of the Vice-President were elected unopposed. For the post of Vice-President, there were three candidates, viz, Dr. S Mukherjee (IPR), which was put to vote to the GBM. Dr. S Mukherjee was hence elected over a majority show of hands (number). The newly elected members to the PSSI Executive Committee for the term 2013-15 are;

President	Prof. A. N. Shekar Iyengar, SINP, Kolkata
Vice-President	Dr. S. Mukherjee, IPR, Gandhinagar
Secretary	Dr. Daniel Raju, IPR, Gandhinagar
Treasurer	Ms. Ranjana Manchanda, IPR. Gandhinagar
Counselors	Dr. S. K. S. Parashar, KIIT, Bhubaneshwar
	Dr. Pramod Gopinath, IISST, Trivandrum
	Mr. Mr. M. K. Richharia, G.M.S. College, Jabalpur
	Dr. Yashi Malhotra, IISc, Bangalore
	Dr. Savita Roy, Delhi University
	Ms. Ranjini Menon, VECC, Kolkata
	Ms. Chhaya Chavda, IPR, Gandhinagar

12. The outgoing President welcomed all the new members of the Executive Council and wished them good luck for their two year term. The new President, Prof. Iyengar addressed the GBM and thanked them on behalf of all the new members of the Executive Council.

